Upcoming events

Sun 02 Jun 17h00

Association Alta Musica

Concerts-Causeries de Chailly 2024 – The four seasons

A. Vivaldi: The four seasons

Sue-Ying Koang, violin
La Chapelle Saint-Marc

Temple de Chailly-sur-Lausanne, Avenue du Temple 2
Lausanne, 1012 Switzerland

Sat 15 Jun 18h00

Les Concerts de la Cathédrale

Organ recital

Home

Biography

Combining instrumental mastery with in-depth musicological research, Vincent Bernhardt is a complete musician: an internationally renowned harpsichordist and organist, doctor in musicology, and ensemble director while at the same time pedagogue and researcher.

Born in 1987, Vincent Bernhardt is currently professor of organ at Stuttgart’s Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst, where he succeeded Nathan Laube and Ludger Lohmann. He also heads the organ and harpsichord institute there.

Winner of several music competitions (Gottfried Silbermann International Organ Competition in Freiberg, Grand Prix Bach in Lausanne and Cavaillé-Coll competition in Ville-d’Avray; International Harpsichord Competitions in Bologna and Lugano etc.), Vincent Bernhardt studied in Lyon (Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse), Stuttgart (Hochschule für Musik) and Basel (Schola Cantorum). He holds four Masters degrees in music performance (organ, harpsichord, basso continuo and early organ) as well as a doctorate in musicology, and studied with internationally renowned pedagogues (Andrea Marcon, Jesper Christensen, Yves Rechsteiner, François Espinasse, Liesbeth Schlumberger, Jan Willem Jansen, Bernhard Haas, Jörg Andreas Bötticher, Lorenzo Ghielmi, Jon Laukvik, Gérard Geay etc.).

Since his debut as a harpsichordist with the European Union Baroque Orchestra at the age of 19, Vincent has been invited to give recitals at numerous international festivals, and has performed in some twenty European countries as well as in North America. As a soloist, his recording of the first book of the Well-Tempered Clavier, released in summer 2020 by Calliope, received unanimous international critical acclaim and was nominated for the International Classical Music Awards and the Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

After initiating and directing a cycle of Bach cantatas in Lyon, in 2022 Vincent took over the direction of the Luxembourg baroque ensemble La Chapelle Saint-Marc (founded in 1998), with whom he explores Italian baroque music in particular. Their next album, dedicated to the handwritten trio sonatas of Giuseppe Torelli, will be released in 2024.

As a chamber musician, he collaborates particularly with violinist Sue-Ying Koang. Their album “Dalla biblioteca di Vivaldi?” (Calliope, 2021) features anonymous sonatas from the early 18th century. A second album, “Travelling with a violin” (2023), is devoted to Torelli’s manuscript sonatas for violin and continuo.

As a researcher, he defended a doctoral thesis on interpreting Vivaldi’s music, and his field of expertise is instrumental music of the early 18th century.

Vincent Bernhardt has also conducted the Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra (Lithuania), with which he has recorded three albums: Handel’s oboe concertos (Brilliant Classics, 2022), Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos (Calliope, 2023), and the orchestral works of Johan Daniel Berlin (to be released in 2024). His recordings of Vivaldi concertos have been highly praised by the specialist press (CHOC by Classica magazine and 5 diapasons). Vincent also performs regularly with the Freiburger Barockorchester.

Contact

Let us get in touch.

Please fill out the contact form. I will be in touch as soon as possible.





    T +33 6 84 54 60 94‬

    E vinc.bernhardt (a) yahoo.fr

Prochaines dates

ven 05 Avr 11h00

Amis de la musique du Charolais-Brionnais et Bourbonnais

Musique de chambre

sam 15 Juin 18h00

Les Concerts de la Cathédrale

Récital d’orgue

Accueil

Biographie

Alliant une pratique instrumentale assidue à un travail musicologique approfondi, Vincent Bernhardt est un musicien complet : claveciniste et organiste reconnu sur la scène internationale, docteur en musicologie, chef d’ensembles, il est également pédagogue et chercheur.

Né en 1987, Vincent Bernhardt est actuellement professeur d’orgue à la Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst de Stuttgart, où il a succédé à Nathan Laube et Ludger Lohmann. Il y dirige également l’institut d’orgue et de clavecin. 

Lauréat de plusieurs concours d’interprétation musicale (concours internationaux d’orgue Gottfried Silbermann de Freiberg, J. S. Bach de Lausanne et Cavaillé-Coll ; concours internationaux de clavecin de Bologne et de Lugano…), Vincent Bernhardt a étudié à Lyon (Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse), Stuttgart (Hochschule für Musik) et Bâle (Schola Cantorum). Il est titulaire de quatre Masters d’interprétation musicale (orgue, clavecin, basse continue et orgue ancien) ainsi que d’un doctorat de musicologie, et s’est formé auprès de pédagogues de renom international (Andrea Marcon, Jesper Christensen, Yves Rechsteiner, François Espinasse, Liesbeth Schlumberger, Jan Willem Jansen, Bernhard Haas, Jörg Andreas Bötticher, Lorenzo Ghielmi, Jon Laukvik, Gérard Geay…). 

Depuis ses débuts comme claveciniste de l’Orchestre Baroque de l’Union Européenne à l’âge de 19 ans, Vincent a été invité à donner des récitals dans de nombreux festivals internationaux et s’est produit dans une vingtaine de pays européens ainsi qu’en Amérique. Comme soliste, son disque du premier livre du Clavier bien tempéré, paru à l’été 2020 chez Calliope, a obtenu des critiques internationales unanimement élogieuses et a été nominé aux International Classical Music Awards et pour le Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik. 

Après avoir fondé et dirigé un cycle de cantates de Bach à Lyon, Vincent a pris en 2022 la direction de l’ensemble baroque luxembourgeois La Chapelle Saint-Marc (fondé en 1998), avec lequel il explore en particulier la musique baroque italienne. Leur prochain album, dédié aux sonates en trio manuscrites de Giuseppe Torelli, paraîtra en 2024.

En tant que chambriste, il collabore particulièrement avec la violoniste Sue-Ying Koang. Leur album intitulé « Dalla biblioteca di Vivaldi? » (Calliope, 2021) met à l’honneur des sonates anonymes du début du XVIIIe siècle. Un second album « Travelling with a violin », paru en 2023, est consacré aux sonates manuscrites pour violon et basse continue de Torelli. 

Comme chercheur, il a soutenu une thèse de doctorat sur l’interprétation de la musique de Vivaldi et son domaine d’expertise concerne la musique instrumentale du début du XVIIIe siècle. 

Vincent Bernhardt a également dirigé l’Orchestre de chambre de Klaipėda (Lituanie), avec lequel il a enregistré trois albums : les concertos pour hautbois de Händel (Brilliant Classics, 2022), les Concertos Brandebourgeois de Bach (Calliope, 2023), et l’œuvre orchestrale de Johan Daniel Berlin (à paraître en 2024). Ses enregistrements de concertos de Vivaldi ont reçu un excellent accueil par la presse spécialisée (CHOC du magazine Classica et 5 diapasons). En outre, Vincent se produit régulièrement avec le Freiburger Barockorchester. 

Contact

Dans cette section, vous trouverez toutes les informations pour me contacter dans les plus brefs délais.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous le formulaire de contact, à utiliser sans modération. Je vous réponds dans les plus brefs délais.

    T +33 (0) 6 84 54 60 94‬

    E vinc.bernhardt (a) yahoo.fr